OPHA Announces 2018 Award Winners

We are pleased to announce this year’s OPHA Award Winners!  The awards will be presented at the upcoming Celebrate Public Health Awards Dinner on Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at J Liu Restaurant, 6880 N. High Street in Worthington.  The dinner coincides with the 2018 Ohio Public Health Combined Conference.   Reservations to attend can be made on the OPHA website.

John D. Porterfield Distinguished Service Award — Terry Allan, Cuyahoga County Board of Health
The John D. Porterfield Distinguished Service Award recognizes an OPHA member who has provided outstanding leadership and has demonstrated outstanding performance and accomplishment relating to public health throughout their career. This award was established in honor of John D. Porterfield, M.D. who served as Director of Health for the State of Ohio from 1947-1954. It has been awarded since 1976 and is OPHA’s most prestigious award.

Distinguished Public Health Nurse Service Award :  Lisa Strebler, Medina County Health Department
The Distinguished Public Health Nurse Service Award recognizes an OPHA member who is a public health nurse and has demonstrated outstanding performance and accomplishment in the area of public health nursing. This award was first presented by OPHA in 1993 in recognition of the centennial year of public health nursing in the United States.

Distinguished Public Health Practitioner Service Award:  Jordan Francis, Wayne HealthCare
The Distinguished Public Health Practitioner Service Health Educator Service Award recognizes an OPHA member who is a public health practitioner (other than a health educator or nurse) and has demonstrated outstanding performance and accomplishment in any area of public health (other than health education or nursing).

OPHA Governing Council Award:  Lois Hall

Public Health Citizen of the Year Award:  Community Development for All People 
The Public Health Citizen of the Year Award is given to an individual, group, or organization that made an outstanding contribution of major significance to public health in the past year.

Young Public Health Professional Award:  Emily Fisher, Columbus Public Health
The Young Public Health Professional Award is given to an individual who is either under the age of 30 or new (five years or less) to the field of public health or a field that impacts public health policy or practice, and has made a contribution by challenging traditional public health policy or practice in a creative or positive manner.

Graduate Student of Merit Award:  Anne Humphrey, Consortium of Eastern Ohio Master of Public Health
Undergraduate Student of Merit Award:  Alex Northrop, The Ohio State University
The Student of Merit Award is given to one undergraduate and one graduate student who have demonstrated significant accomplishment in a community health or research project that has contributed to public health knowledge. Students eligible for the award must be enrolled in an academic program leading to a career in public health.