Academic Section

About the Academic Section:

Early Section Plans/Goals:
1. Create an Academic Section newsletter to highlight public health research in Ohio and within the section
2. Work towards getting at least one equity-based paper submission from Academic Section for OPHA conference.

Section Chair: Dr. Swagata Banik is a professor of public health and director for the Center for Health Disparities Research and Education at Baldwin Wallace University. Dr. Banik’s research addresses HIV/STI disparities and care needs among racial/ethnic, sexual and gender minorities nationally and internationally. His research also includes community-based participatory research (CBPR) strategies to prevent substance use and misuse among vulnerable populations. 

Section Chair Elect: Dr. Jeff Vasiloff received his MD and MPH degrees from Ohio State University. He was Chief of HIV/STD Prevention for the state of Ohio from 2002-2006, and was Principal Investigator on several multi-million dollar CDC grants during that time. He is currently part of the faculty in Ohio University’s Physician Assistant Program at the Dublin campus. His public health research focuses on infectious disease epidemiology.  

Section Secretary: Sydney Fisher received a BS in Biology from Denison University, an MPH from Ohio State University and she will be starting an MBA at OSU in January 2018. She worked in microbiological/prenatal neurodevelopment research at OSU Wexner Medical Center for 3 years and has been the Program Manager for the Sterilization Monitoring Service (SMS) in the OSU College of Dentistry for one year.